jump to navigation

I need to live on a farm, well sometimes. January 6, 2010

Posted by musicmom67 in Random Thoughts.
trackback

My interests are truly so varied it is hard to believe that one person can have such non-related points of interest.  While I would love to find a great gym with good classes as getting on a piece of exercise equipment is the epitome of boring to me, I would also love to find a good urban dance group.  I quit my two decade dance studio because the studio owner (who has become “born again”)  has decided that anything remotely interesting to dance to and edgy, is the work of the devil.  If music does not evoke the sensation that I cannot sit still no matter where I am, I’ll pass thanks. 

I am digressing here.  I have been pondering what to do this spring to update my yard to reflect some of my other interests.  The kids are pretty much done with the huge swingset and clubhouse monstrosity we have, but it will be sad to take it down and then what will we do with the new toddler generation that has erupted in my husband’s family when they are running around the yard?  It even has a snazzy sandbox oh and did I mention it cost a fortune and was a total pain to build, even for my contractor husband?  However, I have the desire to start a chicken coop and have a really great garden.  I have this vision of being able to sustain my own food sources and just go out and pick whatever I desire, fresh off the plant so I don’t have to drive to the store and spend money on crappy produce.  See where the farm living situation comes in handy?

These two new interests I am rather clueless about though.  Living in the Northeast where it is currently frigid, I have no idea how I will sustain a chicken coop but I think it would be fun to have a few chickens in the yard and fresh eggs.  I think it would also be cool for my kids to have this experience of seeing the whole process, though we may not want to eat chicken afterward as I assume we will become attached to them.  It is hard enough to find somewhere to put the dog (bichon/poodle) when we want to go anywhere let alone who will tend to the chickens.  SG (Serious Guy)  wants to build a monster garden with the best tomatoes ever.  The problem is where to put it so it will actually grow and not get eaten by the many garden loving critters we have around.  Which reminds me, we still never managed to capture the huge snake roaming the yards this past summer who scared the living crap out of me on many occasions.  I happen to detest insects and am not a huge fan of weeding or either so it is also another undertaking that I should seriously think about starting something I don’t care to finish.  My interests could prove to be a recipe for disaster.  My ventures would more than likely result in these outcomes:

Comments»

1. Christina - January 6, 2010

Oh, you can keep chickens! I have a friend in Massachusetts who has a coop & she’s often talking about then dealing with the cold now. Of course, I tune it out a bit ;-)…but if you get serious, I can hook you up with people who know how to pull it off.

Meanwhile I say just take it one small patch at a time & just see what happens!

musicmom67 - January 6, 2010

Mike keeps telling me to invest in another interest and the chicken thing ain’t happening. ha ha


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

